top of page
  • Writer's pictureanna :)

My Favorite 'Rotten' Movies

Not every movie can be a critical success, as the last month or so of 2019 proved. However, just because the critics don’t like a movie doesn’t mean that it’s an utter disaster. Some movies I really like scored ‘rotten’ ratings on Rotten Tomatoes, and I don’t love them any less for that (even if they are a bit of a mess sometimes). On that note, here are some of my favorite ‘rotten’ movies! Also, before we get started, I can assure you that Ophelia will not be appearing on this list because it’s not rotten, so you can mark this as the first and possibly only time it’s not on one of my lists.




Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

Maybe I just have bad taste, but I genuinely enjoyed the ninth installment of the Star Wars saga. Though from a writing standpoint, it had some seriously messy moments (this is a callout of Rey Palpatine), it was a lot of fun to watch, and it’s something I could rewatch multiple times without getting tired because there’s just so much going on (which is probably one of the things that earned it a rotten rating, now that I think about it a little more). I think a large part of my love for it is how we finally got to see the core trio of the sequel trilogy together, as those were my favorite scenes in the entire movie. Or maybe I just like any content that has Rey in it. I’m not really sure.




Robin Hood: Men in Tights (1993)

Anyone who tries to convince me this movie isn’t a masterpiece is entirely wrong, reputation as a critic aside. It’s fantastic. There are very few movies that have made me laugh harder. Sure, it relies on the same jokes running throughout, but the continuity is what makes it hilarious. It’s highly quotable, and I’m fully convinced it’s one of Cary Elwes’s best roles. Sure, I’ve only seen him in three things, so it’s one of the best by default, but nothing is going to convince me that this movie isn’t a work of cinematic genius. If you enjoyed the pure absurdity of Monty Python and the Holy Grail, odds are you’ll have just as good a time watching Robin Hood: Men in Tights as I did.



The Greatest Showman (2017)

Look, I get it. P.T. Barnum was actually a horrible person, and we really shouldn’t overlook that. However, I can’t deny that The Greatest Showman was a good time. Sure, some of the songs are kind of oversaturated pop, and many people would rather fade from existence like a great collection of Marvel heroes did in Infinity War than hear Keala Settle sing “This is Me” for the eightieth time, but a couple of songs stay amazing even over two years later. I mean, come on. Where else are we going to get Hugh Jackman and Zac Efron doing intense choreography around a bar while making a business deal in song fashion? Seriously, if you know of somewhere, let me know. I would die for a whole movie in the style of “The Other Side.” All in all, I don’t think The Greatest Showman is that bad of a movie, and any time I just need to smile, I know I can put it on and that’s exactly what I’ll get.




Atlantis: The Lost Empire (2001)

Alright, so I watched this one on a bus after getting to school at six-thirty in the morning. My perception might be a little bit warped. Still, I genuinely enjoyed this movie. I wouldn’t call it one of Disney’s best movies by any means, but it’s a really good time, and the characters are really interesting. It’s got a fast-paced plot once it gets rolling, and there are quite a few twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. Also, the animation is absolutely gorgeous. It’s definitely not for everybody, but if you want to see Disney branch out and do something completely different from most of the other things they’ve released, I’d definitely recommend Atlantis: The Lost Empire.



Tolkien (2019)

I’m definitely biased in favor of this movie because I think J.R.R. Tolkien is the coolest person who ever lived. Sure, this one isn’t an absolute masterpiece, and it can be a little clunky at times. However, the acting and writing is truly marvelous, and it highlights Tolkien’s life before he wrote The Hobbit, which is something rarely discussed in conversations about his life. There’s a heavy emphasis on Tolkien’s relationship with his friends and his future wife Edith, so it kind of feels like a fun adventure told through a group of friends. Imagine if there was an entire movie about the Barricade Boys from Les Miserables, and that’s what you’ve got with Tolkien. Personally, I think it’s fantastic.



Ella Enchanted (2004)

Full disclosure: I haven’t seen this movie in about eight years. I do, however, remember deeply enjoying it. Maybe the writing was a little bit weird, but every actor gives an amazing performance. Plus, if you think I’m not going to adore any movie where Anne Hathaway sings ‘Somebody to Love’ by Queen, you clearly don’t know me very well. Maybe it does work better for children than adults, but I’ve got a soft spot in my heart for Ella Enchanted that I don’t think I’ll ever lose.


These are by no means all the ‘rotten’ movies I love, but they’re the ones that came to mind first. Were some of your favorite movies critical disasters? Let me know!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page