top of page
  • Writer's pictureanna :)

Onward


I’ve always been a sucker for a good Pixar movie, and Onward is no exception. It came out on March 6, 2020, which also happens to be when I saw it, and though it opened to mixed reviews, I absolutely adored it. I’ll admit, I was a little worried when I sat down to watch it, as my friends’ skepticism rubbed off on me. However, the minute the goofy Simpson’s short gave way to the voiceover about how the world was full of magic, I was captivated. I adore high fantasy movies and animated movies, so when the two worlds met, I fell instantly in love. I’d rate this movie five stars on any rating platform, and I really think it’s become one of my favorite Pixar movies.

Onward is, at its core, the story of two brothers. The older one, Barley (voiced by Chris Pratt), is boisterous and friendly. He’s into tabletop RPGs similar to Dungeons and Dragons, and he’s generally, a bit a fanboy, fascinated with the magic that used to dominate their world. Ian (Tom Holland), his little brother, is his perfect opposite. He’s shy and tends to avoid contact with others, but since he’s just turned sixteen, he’s decided to revamp his entire life. Since everything big happens on the sixteenth birthday of a Disney character, their mother reveals that their father, who passed away before Ian was born, left them a gift: a staff and a spell that will bring him back for one day. As you’d expect, this goes terribly wrong, as little Ian is inexperienced with magic, and they end up with just their dad’s khaki-clad legs. Therefore, they’re off on a wild quest to bring back the other half of their dad so they can spend the rest of the day with him. Throw in a manticore dreaming of returning to her days as a hero (Octavia Spencer), feisty little pixies, and their well-meaning yet overprotective mother (Julia Louis-Dreyfus) and you’ve got a recipe for a sweet, magical Pixar adventure.

I genuinely adored this film, and I’m not afraid to say it. All the characters contributed to the plot in their own unique way. Ian, my personal favorite, was so dorky and lovable that you couldn’t help but root for him, and his chemistry with Barley was palpable and sweet. The lower half of their dad, despite not having a face to emote with, stole many of the scenes he was in, especially when they formed his makeshift torso from a bunch of items found in the back of Barley’s trusty van Guinevere. The manticore, best known as Cory, stole the show in her scenes, especially when they were shared with Laurel, Ian and Barley’s mother. The world was a perfect example of magical realism, and I found myself grinning every time their world blended with the one we live in now. It took a while to reach its emotional climax, but when it did, it absolutely destroyed me. Ask anyone. I cried. It was a mess.

Though it leans on tropes to propel the story along, Onward is a fun journey through a magical world that’s only made better by its characters. I’d recommend it to almost anyone, but I’d give them a quick warning to bring the tissues.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page