top of page
  • Writer's pictureanna :)

Page to Screen: Dune

It’s the beginning of June, which means it’s time for another page to screen feature! I know I haven’t posted in nearly a month, but that’s just because I’ve been watching enough Great British Bake-Off for the entire population of Alabama. Anyway, today we’re featuring a movie that I don’t actually know that much about: Dune. It’s directed by Denis Villeneuve, known for Blade Runner 2049, Sicario, and Arrival. It’s got an absolutely star-studded cast, including actors such as Zendaya (Spider-Man: Far from Home, The Greatest Showman), Oscar Isaac (Star Wars, Inside Llewyn Davis), Timothee Chalamet (Little Women, Lady Bird), Jason Momoa (Aquaman, Braven), and Dave Bautista (Guardians of the Galaxy). It’s based on the 1965 novel by Frank Herbert with a screenplay by Eric Roth, and is set to release on December 18th, 2020, assuming coronavirus doesn’t delay it further.

Warner Bros. summarized it much better than I ever will, so I’m just going to snag their summary: “Paul Atreides, a brilliant and gifted young man born into a great destiny beyond his understanding, must travel to the most dangerous planet in the universe to ensure the future of his family and his people. As malevolent forces explode into conflict over the planet’s exclusive supply of the most precious resource in existence-a commodity capable of unlocking humanity’s greatest potential-only those who can conquer their fear will survive.” I think that’s all I really know about the plot at this point, since I have yet to read the novel (though I probably should do that before I see the movie).

We got a first look at this movie back in April in the form of a couple of stills, and honestly, it looked incredibly interesting to me. I love science fiction, however, so that’s probably to be expected. In these images, which can be found through a simple Google search for “Dune 2020 stills,” we get a look at the cast in their new world, including Zendaya looking dramatically into the distance, Timothee Chalamet looking a bit too much like Kylo Ren for anyone to be comfortable, Jason Momoa wielding a cool-looking knife, and Oscar Isaac sporting an increasingly bushy beard.

And that’s all we really know about Dune! I really hope this movie makes its December release date, as I think it looks interesting and I’d love the chance to see it in the theaters.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page