top of page
  • Writer's pictureanna :)

Page to Screen: Our Chemical Hearts


It’s May, which means it’s time for another book to movie adaptation spotlight! I haven’t read this book since last October, so I don’t remember too much about it other than that I loved it, but that’s okay since we know almost nothing about the movie! That’s right, it’s none other than Krystal Sutherland’s Our Chemical Hearts, which is slated to release at some point on Amazon Prime Video.

Our Chemical Hearts, or Chemical Hearts, as the movie has been renamed, follows the story of Henry, a young newspaper editor, who has never been in love. That is, until he meets Grace Town, the new girl. As you would expect from a teen novel, they fall in love, but Grace has a mysterious past that Henry wants nothing more than to discover and help her get over. I’m trying to explain it without giving too many spoilers, and I think that’s all I can really say.

The movie is going to be directed by Richard Tanne, who is best known for Southside With You, which also happens to be the only other thing he’s ever directed. Interesting. He’s also writing the script, and since I’ve never seen anything else he’s written or directed, I can’t really share my opinion on his skill in those areas. Lili Reinhart (Hustlers, Riverdale) is slated to portray Grace Town. Now, I’ve only ever seen her act in the few scenes I’ve seen from Riverdale, and I don’t think I could identify her in those anyway. Still, I’m interested to see what she does with the role. Grace is a really complex character, and I hope she’s done justice in the movie. Henry Page, the main character is going to be portrayed by Austin Abrams (Paper Towns), who I have also not seen in anything. I don’t know a thing about him, but if he’s been a John Green character, I feel like he’s qualified to play the sweet, kind of disastrous Henry that I know and love.

Chemical Hearts currently doesn’t have a release date, but it’s slated to be released on Amazon Prime Video at...some point, I hope. Maybe the curse of movies I’m invested in getting stuck in development hell will finally be lifted with this one.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page