top of page
  • Writer's pictureanna :)

Quarantine Movie Recommendations

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

Getting stuck at home because of coronavirus has turned out to be both a blessing and a curse because I now have more free time than I know what to do with. So, I’ve started watching a lot of movies! In the event you want to follow in my footsteps, here are some of my recommendations. I wish I could define what makes a good quarantine movie, but given that this list is kind of all over the board, I hope there’s something here for you! And if you decide to watch any of these, let me know what you think about them!



La La Land (2016)

I’m a little bit biased, as I watched this just a few days ago, but given that this was the inspiration for this list, I don’t think it would be right for me not to include it. Besides that, it’s one of my all-time favorite movies. Maybe it’s because I’m an actor/writer, and so I can see a lot of myself in Mia. Maybe it’s the soft jazz music that sticks in my head for weeks after I’ve watched this movie (looking at you, ‘City of Stars’). But something about this movie feels like coming home after a long day, and it’s really comforting to fall into their story over and over again. It’s also visually very pleasing, especially during the epilogue, so it appeals to those interested in the technical side of filmmaking. If you haven’t seen this one, I’d definitely put it down on your list of movies to watch during the lockdown.



The Jumanji Series (2017--)

Yes, I know there was an earlier Jumanji starring Robin Williams, but since I have not seen it yet (though I would like to), I’m not including it for the purposes of this list. However, the two new ones are some of the funniest movies I have ever watched. If you want a good laugh while you’re stuck at home, run to your nearest Redbox (but wash your hands as soon as you get home and probably touch the DVD with a glove) and grab these two movies. I promise you won’t regret it. When I watched The Next Level a little while ago, it took me out of the fact I was stuck in quarantine and for about two hours, I was just focused on how this cast of characters was going to get themselves out of this adventure. Also, The Rock plays Danny DeVito. That’s enough of a reason to watch the second one.



Inside Llewyn Davis (2013)

I’m never going to stop singing the praises of this movie. Though its plot is, admittedly, pretty bleak, it’s such a good one to watch during quarantine. At a time when we’re alone with our thoughts, it gives us something to think about, whether it’s the folk scene in general or just how fantastic Oscar Isaac did as the titular character. Like La La Land, there’s something about it that just feels like going home, and this is coming from someone who’s only seen it once. Not only that, but the songs, with their skillful guitar work, gentle lyrics, and Isaac’s husky voice, have a relaxing effect on many people who listen to them. I won’t go too far into this, given that my last post was a review of it (read that here), but it’s available on Amazon Prime Video for free in the event you have any interest in it.



Ophelia (2018)

Come on. Could we really have a list on Ellipsis without me mentioning this movie? It was the second movie I watched over spring break (which became quarantine as my school suspended classes on that Friday), and even then it was part of a double feature with another movie on this list. If you have any interest in Shakespeare’s Hamlet, then I definitely recommend watching this one. It’s visually stunning, well-written, well-acted, and turns a familiar story into a brand new adventure. I could watch it hundreds of times without getting tired of it, and I know I’m going to visit Elsinore for a third time before this quarantine ends. If you’re looking for an adventure while trapped in your house, consider checking out Claire McCarthy’s Ophelia. It’s absolutely fantastic, and I can almost guarantee that you won’t regret it. I’m not sure that it’s available to rent anywhere, but it’s so worth buying. If you want more information on it, check out my review from the first time I watched it.



Little Women (2019)

Greta Gerwig’s adaptation of Louisa May Alcott’s classic novel is one of my favorite movies. I went to see it while it was in theaters, and I’ve been waiting to see it again for ages. It’s coming out on DVD on April 7th, but if things continue the way they’re going right now, quarantine won’t be over, so I can still call it a quarantine movie. It’s rather tame, as far as movies go, as there’s no big adventures or anything like that, but it’s beautifully written and acted, and it made me want to hug everyone around me, which in my opinion, is a good thing. If you want the cinematic equivalent of a warm blanket and a cup of tea, Little Women is the movie for you!



Tangled (2010)

I can’t tell you how many jokes I’ve heard about Rapunzel being kept in her tower to keep her safe from her kingdom, which happens to be named Corona. Still, Tangled is the perfect quarantine movie in my opinion. We’re all a bit shut away like Rapunzel right now, and it shows us that we can still make every day wonderful even if we aren’t allowed to leave the house. Plus, you never know when somebody’s going to climb through your window and spirit you away on a grand adventure. I think I’m biased since it’s my favorite animated movie of all time, but if you want a fun, sweet, romantic adventure, watch Tangled. I can guarantee that it’ll put a smile on your face at least once. And if it doesn’t...you can blame me. It’s fine.



Up (2009)

I promise the rest of this list won’t just be animated movies, but if you want a true animated adventure, Pixar’s Up is the perfect movie. Once you get past the first ten minutes, which will make you cry harder than 90% of true tearjerkers, you’re pulled on a fun-filled adventure with Carl, Russell, and the little band of travelers they gather along the way. There are parts that’ll make your heart race, parts that’ll tug at your heartstrings like every good Pixar movie does, and by the end, you’ll be inspired to find a little bit of adventure in every day. Sure, you could say this about every Pixar movie, but this one is based more on adventures than all the others except Onward (which, when it comes to Disney+, is also an amazing quarantine movie), so I decided to include it.



Any Major Franchise (really, just take your pick)

Odds are, there’s been at least one franchise that everyone’s been raving about that you’ve always wanted to watch but have never been able to find the time to commit to. Well, here you are. In quarantine. With all the time in the world on your hands. So pick your franchise, figure out where you can watch it, and jump in! I have tried this one, and I can guarantee that it works. My dad and I watched the second two Indiana Jones movies (if you haven’t noticed, I’ve watched a lot of adventure movies lately), and they really got my mind off the fact I hadn’t left the house in five straight days. So, if you’ve always wanted to watch the Marvel movies, the Skywalker Saga, or the Lord of the Rings series, now’s your time! I don’t think you’ll get another opportunity as perfect as this to find your newest obsession.


So, these are my quarantine movie recommendations! If you watch any of these, let me know what you think of them! Do you have any favorite quarantine movies? Let met know, and there's a chance they'll make it into another post like this (because let's face it, we're probably stuck here for a while). Stay healthy, and remember to wash your hands!


7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page