top of page
  • Writer's pictureanna :)

Ten Criminally Underrated Disney Movies

If you’re anything like me, you love every Disney movie without regard for the plot or anything else, really. Still, not every Disney movie gets the critical acclaim of Frozen or Tangled, but that doesn’t mean they don’t deserve recognition. Today, I’ve made a list of the ten most underrated Disney movies, in my definitely uneducated opinion! These are in no particular order other than the order in which I thought of them, which may mean something. If it does, I’m not sure what.



Meet the Robinsons

This is hands down one of my favorite Disney movies of all time. It’s got a unique storyline, characters you can truly root for, and enough comedy to last for ages. Despite this, most people don’t really pay much attention to it, and Disney seems to have forgotten that they made it, likely because it wasn’t as much of a critical success as they were hoping. Still, it’s literally one of the most creative movies I’ve ever watched, between the evil bowler hat, the tyrannosaurus rex, and every single member of the humongous Robinson clan. The way everything ties together at the end is really satisfying, and it absolutely blew my mind when I was younger. Plus, it’s got a wonderful message about everybody having a place to belong, no matter how much of a misfit they feel like. I wish Disney made more movies like it, because I know I’d go see them without a second thought.




Bolt

Another Disney movie from my elementary school days, I’ve always thought Bolt was an absolute masterpiece of a movie, and when I watched it again last year, that belief only grew stronger. I can’t remember where I watched this movie for the first time, but I know it instantly became one of my favorites when I did. Like Meet the Robinsons, it’s creative and fun, with characters you can easily root for. I mean, come on, who doesn’t want to watch the story of a “super-dog” trying to find his identity outside of a TV persona? Okay, when I put it like that, it’s a little strange, but Bolt is a hidden gem of a movie that deserves so much more recognition than it gets.



The Hunchback of Notre Dame

As far as Disney movies go, this one is on the darker side. It is based on a Victor Hugo novel, so I’m not sure what people expected, but I don’t think it’s popular among kids for that reason. Still, when I watched it for the first time a few months ago, it instantly became one of my favorites. Quasimodo is a hero you can’t help but want things to turn out well for, Esmeralda knows what she wants and how to get it, Phoebus is an admirable man who always wants to do what is right, and Frollo is a spine-chilling villain the likes of which has never been done before in a Disney film. There is not a bad song on the soundtrack, and the plot is--while not typically Disney--really compelling! If you haven’t seen this one yet, what are you waiting for?




Hercules

I think this one’s been deemed underrated enough that it’s not actually underrated anymore, but I’m including it anyway because I love it with my entire heart. Sure, Hercules does not stay true to the original Greek myth in any shape, form, or fashion, but if you view it as a wholly separate story, it’s a great time! There’s morally gray characters (hello, Megara), goofy sidekicks, a satyr voiced by Danny DeVito, and a musical number to please every member of the family. It’s a bundle of fun, and I’ve never met anybody who didn’t like it. So, if you haven’t seen it, I definitely give it my stamp of approval!




Atlantis: The Lost Empire

Okay, so unlike a lot of movies on this list, I’ve actually only seen this one once--but I love it. It’s a little bit on the messier side, but I’m an absolute sucker for the trope of a bunch of misfits banding together to achieve a common goal, and this movie has no shortage of that. I love all the characters, and each of them brings something really interesting to the table, in my opinion. I’ve got to watch it again to have a real opinion on it, since it was about six-thirty in the morning and I was on a bus full of teenagers when I first watched it, but I do remember greatly enjoying it. Also, Kida is one of the most interesting female characters Disney has created in a while. That’s all.



Lady and the Tramp (2019)

I know, I know. Disney live action remakes are, as a whole, kind of bad. However--I really enjoyed Lady and the Tramp. Was it as good as the original? Nope. Was it enjoyable anyway? Absolutely. Featuring the voice talents of Tessa Thompson (Thor: Ragnarok) and Justin Theroux (Zoolander, Miami Vice) in the two lead roles, the movie was an absolute mood-booster, and I found myself in a better mood after watching it than I was beforehand, which is always what I want from a Disney film. It’s far from one of my favorite movies, but I had a good time watching it, and I’d definitely recommend it if you’re searching for a Disney live action remake to watch (but honestly, why would you do that).



Sky High

I haven’t watched this movie in ages, but I remember capital-L loving it when I was a kid. I don’t really hear that many people talk about it either, so I’ve decided to include it. The humor is absolutely top-notch, and all the characters are fantastically written. Sure, it’s a bit campy and a traditional superhero movie, but it’s a great time, and I have full plans to give it another watch in a few weeks just for nostalgia’s sake. Maybe I won’t like it as much then. I’m not sure, but I know I’m excited.



The Aristocats

Like Sky High, I haven’t watched this one in a while, but in my opinion, it’s an underrated classic. It’s not talked about frequently among the Disney community, and I’m really not sure why. I know a lot of critics considered it a cat version of Lady and the Tramp, and in a way, it is--but it’s also completely different. The Aristocats features lovable characters, jazzy songs that are sure to be stuck in your head for ages (I’ve had “Everybody Wants to be a Cat” burned into my brain for like eleven years), and one of the more interestingly motivated villains I’ve seen in a while. It’s a well-made movie, and if you haven’t seen it, it’s definitely worth giving a watch on Disney+.



The Princess and the Frog

Like Hercules, I think this one’s been called underrated enough that it’s now rated appropriately, but I don’t care. It turns the frog prince trope found in so many childhood stories on its head, and adds a few new fun characters, like Louis the trumpet-playing alligator and Ray the Cajun firefly who just happens to be in love with a star, for good measure. Dr. Facilier, also known as the Shadow Man, is one of my favorite Disney villains, even if I was absolutely terrified of him when I was a child. There is not a bad song in this movie, and like the ones in The Aristocats, these New Orleans jazz numbers will be stuck in your head for the next few years. I’ve loved this movie since I was a child, and I think I always will.




Underdog

I’m not going to try to tell you that Underdog is a fantastic movie. It’s a bit of a mess, and the plot is formulaic at best and utterly predictable at worst. However, it holds a very special place in my heart due to the sheer nostalgia factor. I remember spending many afternoons curled up on the couch watching this movie on Disney Channel. I watched part of it again back in October, and sure, it’s not very put together, but it’s a good time. I recommend it to people who have younger kids or a soft spot in their heart for talking dogs with superpowers (which, honestly, who doesn’t have one of those?).


So, those are my ten most underrated Disney movies! Let me know which of your favorite Disney movies are criminally underrated!


14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page